Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston

Houston's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Ally Bar Association

header photo

Our community mourns the loss of Debra Hunt

It is with deep sadness and regret that we share the news with our community that we lost Debra Hunt on July 12, 2017. We extend our sympathy to her family and her many friends. She was a leader in our community and a very warm spirit.

The Houston Lawyer - March 2017 - LGBT Jurisprudence

The latest The Houston Lawyer issue came out on March 2, 2017!  The entire issue is dedicated to "LGBT Jurisprudence."  Our members, Josefina Rendon and Kin Spain, wrote featured articles:
Kin Spain: "The Bar Comes Out in Houston" 
Josefina Rendon: "How Houston's Municipal Courts Made LGBT History"
There is also an article on our very own Kin Spain.
See the issue here: Link


Congratulations to the contributing writers, our members, and to Houston for documenting and celebrating our long history!  Onward!


Annual Meeting 2017 - April 26 - Save the Date!


January CLE - Advancements in Transgender Law - Phyllis Randolph Frye

To see Phyllis' PowerPoint presentation from the CLE:  Link


2017 Emerging Leader Award - Submission Period Now Open

About the Award

The Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston recognizes that positive accomplishments of young LGBT leaders are vital to the success of the LGBT community as a whole.  SLAGH is committed to supporting and cultivating emerging legal leaders.  To promote the success of recent LGBT law school graduates, and in response to a difficult financial climate, SLAGH created a monetary award program: The Emerging Leader Award.  We encourage all eligible individuals to apply.

Eligibility Requirements

All December 2016, May 2017, and Summer 2017 law school graduates from the University of Houston, South Texas College of Law, and Texas Southern University are eligible to apply.  Special attention will be paid to those applicants who are members of Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston.  Membership to SLAGH is free to all students who are currently enrolled in a Houston-area law school.  Award recipient selection will be made based both on the financial need and the achievements of the applicant.

Application Information

Each aspiring award recipient must submit a completed application, 140-character responses, or Tweets, to the first three questions, and 150-word responses to the last two essay questions.  Contact information for three references is also required to accompany your application.  Complete applications in electronic format are due no later than 8:00 p.m. on Sunday, April 16, 2017.  Candidates will receive a reply email when their completed applications are received.  SLAGH will announce the Award recipient at our annual meeting on April 26, 2017, and present the monetary award at that time.  Incomplete applications will not be considered.  Follow the application instructions and submit an application by visiting the “Annual Award” tab at


SLAGH's Annual Holiday Party 2016


Upcoming Ethics CLE - October 10, 2016 @ 6:30 - Black Labrador Pub on Montrose


SLAGH Law Student & Member Mixer - September 28, 2016 @ 5:30 p.m.


State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting 2016

On June 16-17, 2016, the State Bar of Texas will host its Annual Meeting at the Fort Worth Omni and Convention Center.  As always, the LGBT Law Section will be presenting a full day of great CLE topics at the Annual Meeting.  The LGBT Law Section's CLE will take place on Friday, June 17.  Click here to check for updates on CLE topics, as well as LGBT Law Section networking events during the Annual Meeting. 


2016 Emerging Leader Award Recipient

This year's award recipient was Ashley DeHart.  She has also joined the board as our Director At-Large. Congratulations, Ashley, and welcome aboard!


The New Board 2016-2017

SLAGH held its 2016 Annual Meeting on Wednesday, April 27th, 2016 at Baba Yega Cafe.  We discussed this year's progress, accomplishments, and our goals for the future.  We also announced the recipient of our annual Emerging Leader Award and scholarship.  Congratulations to Ashley DeHart as the recipient of the 2016 Emerging Leader Award!  We wish her the best of luck on the bar exam and in her career.  Ms. DeHart has also been elected to the new board as the at-large director.  

Meet SLAGH's new board members for 2016-2017:

President - Ashlee Dunham

Vice President - Cheryl Lovelady

Treasurer - Nicholas Smith

Secretary - Bryan Terhune

At-Large Director - Ashley DeHart

It was a pleasure seeing everyone at the meeting.  We look forward to the next event and the upcoming year.


Google Groups to Replace SLAGH’s Previously Used ListServ as of 04/25/16

Email invites will be going out on April 25, 2016.  


SLAGH's 25th Anniversary Event

Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston (SLAGH) celebrated its 25th anniversary on September 26, 2015, at South Texas College of Law.  The event was a great success!  We were glad to see many long-standing and new members, and to have the opportunity to honor those members that are no longer with us but whose legacies continue on.  We would like to express our continuing gratitude to the event's host committee sponsors acknowledged below.  Proceeds from our anniversary event will be used to enhance the fund for our annual Emerging Leader Award. 

Your 2015 SLAGH Board:

Samuel Gutierres, President

Fransheneka “Fran” Watson, Vice-President

Ashlee Dunham, Treasurer

Daney De La O, Secretary

Cheryl Lovelady, At-Large Director


SLAGH's 2015 Annual Meeting 


SLAGH Announces 2015 Emerging Leader Awards

At the Annual Meeting on April 30th, SLAGH's 2015 Emerging Leader Awards went to two worthy recipients:  Porscha Brown of TSU's Thurgood Marshall Law School (pictured above with SLAGH Vice President Fran Watson), and Stacy Saxon of South Texas College of Law.


Judge Steve Kirkland Receives the 2015 Phyllis Frye Award

Steve Kirkland, former judge of the 215th Judicial District Court of Harris County, received the 2015 Phyllis Frye Award, given by SLAGH's Board of Directors to an attorney member who demonstrates outstanding service to the LGBT community.  Judge Kirkland is pictured above with the award's namesake. 

Announcing SLAGH's New Board of Directors for 2015-16

SLAGH's membership has elected the new board!  Pictured above from left to right are Cheryl Lovelady (Director-At-Large), Fran Watson (Vice President), Daney De La O (Secretary), Ashlee Dunham (Treasurer), and Sam Gutierres (President).